Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Having been discharged and given the all clear by both the neurologist and cardiologist I went for a final visit to my GP. I think we’re back to what the A&E Dr said to me hours after my accident “Everyone’s allowed to faint once”.  There’s  nothing wrong with me and no obvious cause of my faint.

I may have been slightly dehydrated, though given the hassle of stopping for a comfort break on a short ride, I’m not really inclined to drink much more.  I may have been slightly stressed, and I think that’s under control now.  I had thought that paying more attention to my heart rate might be relevant but the first cardiologist I saw said not to worry, and my heart rate has been higher since my accident without ill effects so I think that’s a blind alley.

There may be something in monitoring resting heart rate.  I have recently been checking mine with an optical sensor and it seems all over the place: the average is around 45bpm with a variation from 42bpm to 50bpm.  The cardiologist told me that the 24hr ECG measured it at 39bpm which is lower than the optical sensor generally measure it.  So room for further investigation!

One possible contributory factor to my resting heart rate being variable is that I still find it uncomfortable to sleep on my injured shoulder.  The joint is taking far longer to get back to normal than the bone took to heal.  It actually seemed to get significantly worse over Christmas so the GP referred me back to physiotherapy.  I don’t yet have an appointment but it of course feels much better now I have a referral.

The GP also thought it worth getting an annual blood test which I will do.  I also continue to take (non-prescribed) Vitamin D.  The number of times I have been asked how much alcohol I consume has also made me try to drink less alcohol and I almost managed a “dry January” (from just after midnight on the first until the evening of the 31st).

